Introduction to Sri Lanka Sathya Sai Organization

The Sathya Sai Organization in Sri Lanka has been in existence since 1965, that is for 40 years. It is significant that the organization is the second oldest in Asia, and in next only to that in Malaysia.

In the global context, for admistrative purposes, Sri Lanka is directly under Prashanthi Council. For administrative purposes Sri Lanka is divided into five distinct geographic areas called zones (Western & Southern, Central, Northern, North Central  and Eastern Zones). There are  124 Centers and Sai Devotional Groups (SDGs) in the 5 zones. Map below is  indicative only, and shows the five zones into which the country is divided.

The total number of registered devotees in the  Centers and SDGs  in the 5 zones is approximately 128,000. This is a four-fold increase over the previous reporting period. Whilst many of those who were affected by the tsunami found their faith in religion profoundly shaken, others saw the situation as validating their belief in the universality of suffering. Still others attributed this situation to bad karma in their past lives. Some viewed death and destruction as a part of the creative process. Many survivors thought that this was one more sign of the times when God comes down to earth to establish love and faith in the hearts of men. When they heard stories of Sai Baba and his Life and Mission they thought that this time it was Sai Baba who had come down to earth in the form of God. They thought He would be their savior and they took refuge in Him. Hence this four-fold increase in the number of devotees. There are also a very large number of devotees who have not registered themselves with any Center or SDG, but are nevertheless fully committed to Swami's teachings. This number, could  amount to about 2  million in all five zones.




The Sathya Sai Organization in Sri Lanka is divided geographically into five zones

    - Western & Southern

   - Central

   - Northern

   - Eastern

   - North Central